تضخم الأسعار في الكويت والخليج

هناك رأي اقتصادي يدعي أن ارتفاع أسعار النفط لا يؤدي إلى تضخم أسعار السلع الاستهلاكية على المدى القصير إلى المتوسط. ويرتكز منطق هذا الرأي على أن دخل المستهلكين ثابت على المدى القصير، ويوزع (يصرف) على سلة من السلع والخدمات.

فإذا ارتفع سعر سلعة أساسية وضرورية من هذه السلة، يضطر المستهلك تخصيص حصة أكبر من دخله الثابت لشراء هذه السلعة الضرورية، وتقليص مشترياته من السلع الأخرى (على افتراض ثبات العوامل الأخرى). وهذا يعني تقليص الطلب على السلع الأخرى، مما يضطر بائعيها على تخفيض أسعارهم – أي نظرياً يتحرك منحنى الطلب إلى اليسار.

لا شك أن البائعين سيعدلون انتاجهم (ومنحنى العرض) على المدى الأطول ليلائم الطلب الجديد. ولكن أثر تقلص الطلب على المدى القصير انكماشي على أسعار تلك السلع، مما يعمل على موازنة الأثر التضخمي لارتفاع السلعة الضرورية.

وقد تم توضيح ذلك عملياً من خلال دراسة رسوم بيانية لفترة اثني عشر سنة (2005 – 2017). فبمقارنة الرسم البياني لأسعار النفط مع مؤشر الأسعار الاستهلاكية الأمريكية (التضخم)، وجد أن في معظم الحالات فجوة زمنية بين ارتفاع أسعار النفط وبين ارتفاع مؤشر التضخم (والعكس صحيح).

إذن ماذا يزيد نسبة التضخم؟

فبناءً على ثبات دخل الناس على المدى القصير، وكذلك عدم قدرة البائعين من تغيير نمط انتاجهم ومخزونهم بسرعة، فإن الطريقة الوحيدة لارتفاع التضخم (في المثال أعلاه) هي بزيادة حجم النقد (السيولة) في الاقتصاد.

فبزيادة حجم النقد من خلال عمليات وسياسات البنوك المركزية ومن خلال القروض المصرفية، يمكن خلق نقد إضافي جديد يوفر للمستهلكين القدرة على الحفاظ على مستوى استهلاكهم السابق، مما يضغط على الأسعار لأعلى.

الجانب السلبي لهذه العملية هو أن زيادة حجم النقد في الاقتصاد يلغي الحافز لدى المستهلكين للتفكير المتأني في خياراتهم الاستهلاكية، ويمنعهم من ارسال الإشارات الواضحة والضرورية للبائعين الذين بدورهم لا يجدون حافزاً لتحسين أدائهم ومنتجهم… وهذا هو درب الاستهلاك المفرط الذي يؤدي إلى فقاعات اقتصادية ومالية.

السبب الثاني للتضخم في الكويت والخليج

يمكن وصف الدول الخليجية بأنها اقتصادياً أبوية الطالع وتزود دخل الغالبية العظمى من مواطنيها، ووافديها، وقطاعاتها الخاصة. كما أن جزءً كبيراً من هذه الاقتصادات غير منتجة بمفهوم أنها لا توفر المنتجات والخدمات مستقلة عن طلب الحكومة، أو تلك التي يمكن تصديرها، أو حتى تلك التي يمكن أن تحل محل جبل الاستيراد الذي يشكل السبب الرئيسي لتضخم أسعار السلع الاستهلاكية (أي التضخم المستورد).

وبذلك، يمكن اعتبار هذه السياسة الأبوية السبب الثاني للتضخم. فبالإضافة للصرف الكبير على المشاريع العامة والمشتريات من القطاع الخاص، تقوم هذه الحكومات بتوظيف كادر موظفين حكومة ضخم أكبر بكثير من حجم العمل المتوفر، وتدفع له رواتب وحوافز ممتازة جداً ومعززة بزيادات دورية سنوية. كما تهب المواطنين هبات مالية منتظمة، وتتحمل جزءً من مصاريفهم المعيشية من خلال سياسة دعم كريمة. ففي المحصلة، تؤدي هذه السياسات إلى زيادة السيولة ومن ثم، وبغير قصد، تشجع نمو التضخم.

نعتقد بأن الأوضاع الاقتصادية العالمية الانكماشية منذ الأزمة المالية الكبرى (2008/2009) حافظت على حجم التضخم المحلي بين 3% و4%. فلو كانت الأمور طبيعية، لربما واجهنا نسبة تضخم أكبر بكثير. وهذا أمر ما زال ممكن حدوثه مع انتعاش الاقتصاد العالمي في السنوات القادمة، فماذا ستفعل الحكومات الخليجية عندئذٍ؟ خصوصاً وأن مصدة الإيرادات النفطية الضخمة قد اختفت؟

هناك عدة سبل للخروج من هذه الورطة المحتملة، ويتركز معظمها حول معالجة حكيمة للميزانيات الحكومية المتخمة، وإعادة هيكلة الكادر الحكومي، وخلق فرص إيرادات خارجية جديدة، وطبعاً كبح جماح الاستهلاك المفرط. ولكن هذه الحلول طويلة المدى، أي تحتاج لوقت ومال. فكلما أسرعنا في إدراك ذلك، قللنا من إضاعة الوقت الثمين، ونجحنا في تعديل توازن سفينتنا لمواجهة الأعاصير القادمة.

Share

3 آراء على “تضخم الأسعار في الكويت والخليج”

  1. Great article,
    my thoughts: Taxes! I think taxes would impact inflation since we are not accustomed to it here in Kuwait. Once the cost of acquiring a product or services, lets say the cost of that Starbucks Frappuccino or what not, goes up by 5% or more, the consumer will rethink buying it from once a day to perhaps 3 times a week.

    The general pollution needs to be more responsible with regards to their spending, the mentality of being productive and having the approach of spending based on budgets , as well as spending on productivity rather than consumption only, only then we shall see organic growth within the economy.

  2. شكراً يابواحمد على هذا التحليل الممتاز والنظرة الواسعه لمسببات التضخم والتي يختلف نمطها في الاقتصادات المنتجه عنها في الاقتصادات الريعيه او الابويه كما أطلقت عليها .
    يعطيك العافيه .

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

هذا الموقع يستخدم Akismet للحدّ من التعليقات المزعجة والغير مرغوبة. تعرّف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Inflation in Kuwait and the Gulf

One economic opinion argues that rising oil prices do not cause consumer price inflation in the short to medium term. Its reasons that consumers’ incomes are fixed in the short term and, as such, are distributed (spent) among a variety (basket) of goods and services.

Therefore, as the price of one essential and necessary item rises, the consumer is forced to allocate a bigger portion of his income to that item and less to others (subject to all other things being equal). This reduces demand on the other items, and forces their suppliers to reduce their prices – technically, the Demand curve shifts to the left.

Of course, in the longer term, suppliers will adjust their operations (and Supply curves) to meet this changed demand. But in the short term, the impact would be deflationary on some items, which tends to balance out the inflationary impact of the rise in the price of one or few items.

This has been empirically demonstrated in a series of graphs for oil price changes over twelve years (2005 – 2017). The US Consumer Price Index was plotted against the changes in oil prices, and it clearly illustrates the time lag between them. The trend in most cases is for the oil price to rise to be later followed by consumer price inflation, and vice versa.

What Does Increase Inflation?

In view of the fact that people’s incomes are fixed in the short term, as well as suppliers ability to increase or decrease their production or inventories, the only way, in the above case, that inflation can creep into the short term is for the money supply to increase.

Once money supply is increased by via central bank monetary policies and commercial banks’ loans, consumers receive more money to spend to maintain their previous level of consumption, thus pressuring all prices to rise.

The negative aspect of such an increase in money supply is that there is no incentive for the consumers to do their homework and think hard about their consumption patterns and choices. They do not need to vote with their pockets and send the necessary signals to suppliers, who, in turn, are not induced to adjust and improve their production patterns. And that, is the road to “exuberant consumption” and economic bubbles.

The Second Cause of Inflation in Kuwait and the Gulf

The Gulf states are predominantly paternalistic economies, who provide the income of the vast majority of their citizens, expatriates and private sector. Also, a big part of those economies is non-productive in the sense of not providing government independent products and services, those that can be exported, or at least replace the mountain of imports, which is the main source of consumer price inflation (Imported Inflation).

The paternalistic policies of the Gulf governments act as a second cause of inflation. For, in addition to excessive government projects and purchases awarded to the private sector, these governments maintain huge civil services far greater than their actual work needs, pay them excellent salaries and benefits with generous annual raises, and regularly grant the population monetary gifts. To top it up, the governments also absorb part of their citizens’ normal living expenses through various subsidies programs. They, thus, contribute to the increase of money supply and unwittingly encourage inflation.

It is the deflationary conditions in the world, since the great financial crisis of 2008/9, that have kept local inflation in the 3 – 4% range. Had things been normal worldwide, we may have witnessed local inflation in double digits. This could still happen, and if it does, what would the governments do? Especially, when they no longer have the bountiful oil revenue they once had?

There are several possible paths out of this predicament. They center around wisely addressing the governments bloated budgets, the restructuring of the civil service, creating new sources of foreign income and, of course reigning in runaway consumption. However, these are longer term solutions, that require time and money. So, the sooner the governments realize this, and stop wasting precious and expensive time, the sooner are we likely to get our ship on even keel and, hopefully survive the coming storm.

Share

3 thoughts on “Inflation in Kuwait and the Gulf”

  1. Great article,
    my thoughts: Taxes! I think taxes would impact inflation since we are not accustomed to it here in Kuwait. Once the cost of acquiring a product or services, lets say the cost of that Starbucks Frappuccino or what not, goes up by 5% or more, the consumer will rethink buying it from once a day to perhaps 3 times a week.

    The general pollution needs to be more responsible with regards to their spending, the mentality of being productive and having the approach of spending based on budgets , as well as spending on productivity rather than consumption only, only then we shall see organic growth within the economy.

  2. شكراً يابواحمد على هذا التحليل الممتاز والنظرة الواسعه لمسببات التضخم والتي يختلف نمطها في الاقتصادات المنتجه عنها في الاقتصادات الريعيه او الابويه كما أطلقت عليها .
    يعطيك العافيه .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *