فترة دقيقة للاقتصاد السعودي

التعليق:  قِدِر الاقتصاد السعودي في الفرن، والطبق المستهدف هو رؤية 2030 التي تمثل اقتصاد سعودي نشط غير معتمد كلياً على النفط. ولكن تاريخ 2030 قريب جداً (فقط 12 سنة) مما يتطلب استخدام سرعة “تيربو”، وهذا بدوره يستدعي إضافة بعض المكونات المزعجة أو المتناقضة للطبخة. 

فلا شك أن تقليص الدعم، وزيادة الضرائب (من قيمة مضافة وغيرها)، ورفع أسعار الكهرباء والمحروقات تعتبر أعباء مزعجة على الشعب، وساهمت في زيادة نسبة تضخم الأسعار وكذلك حجم الدين الأسري.

كما أن زيادة الرسوم على العمالة الأجنبية قد عصرت القطاع الخاص لتظهر الآن بوادر نقص في العمالة غير الماهرة وشبه الماهرة، مما أثار تحفظات البعض حول إمكانية تأخر المشاريع الانشائية وخصوصاً تلك المتعلقة بخطة رؤية 2030.

والغريب في الأمر، أنه بالرغم من تقلص العمالة الأجنبية، زادت نسبة البطالة الوطنية إلى 12.8% ! هذا ربما وضع مؤقت وستتقلص البطالة عند تحول السعوديون إلى قطاع البناء والتشييد والقطاعات الأخرى. فبافتراض وجود سياسة تشجع المغادرة التدريجية لحوالي 10 مليون عامل أجنبي، يعني زيادة فرص العمل للسعوديين – بشرط تغيير أسلوب العمل بزيادة المكننة والتكنولوجيا وإعادة تدريب وتأهيل السعوديين بمهارات أعلى، مما بدوره يسمح بدفع لهم أجور ورواتب أعلى ومتماشية مع مهامهم الجديدة.

ومن الأخبار الإيجابية أن ارتفاع أسعار النفط هذه السنة قد بدأ يخفف بعض الازعاج. فيتوقع صندوق النقد الدولي IMF أن تحقق السعودية 1.9% نمو حقيقي في ناتجها المحلي الإجمالي لسنة 2018 . كما يتوقع نمو القطاع غير النفطي بمعدل 2.3%، وتقلص عجز الميزانية إلى 5.6% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في سنة 2018 (كان 9.3% في 2017)، وتوازى الميزانية في سنة 2024 .

ولكن تحقق كل ما سبق يعتمد على بقاء أسعار النفط مرتفعة وبقاء حجم انتاج النفط عند مستواه الحالي أو أعلى، فلذلك تمر السعودية الآن في مرحلة دقيقة تتطلب استمرار عزيمتها وإصرارها على الإصلاح، ولو تخلل ذلك بعض حالات اللين والتخفيف هنا وهناك.

بشكل عام: إيجابي
سلبي لمن؟: فقط إذا لم تنجح عملية التحول، أو إذا زادت المصاريف غير المنتجة. كما أنها ستكون سلبية على المدى الطويل لإيران إن لم تجد طريقة للمصالحة السياسية والدبلوماسية مع السعودية.
إيجابي لمن؟: اقتصاديا، للسعودية مع احتمال أن تفيض الفائدة لتعم الشرق الأوسط ككل. كما أن هناك فائدة كبيرة محتملة وهي خلق قوة عمل سعودية عالية المهارات في مجال التكنولوجيا والمكننة.
قوة تأثيره: قوي
المدة الزمنية: متوسط وطويل المدى
لقراءة الخبر الأصلي:

https://www.arabianbusiness.com/politics-economics/401593-imf-says-saudi-gdp-growth-to-strengthen-to-19-in-2018

https://oilprice.com/Energy/Energy-General/Saudi-Budget-Deficit-Shrinks-As-Oil-Prices-Rally.html

https://ameinfo.com/money/economy/saudi-labor/

Share

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

هذا الموقع يستخدم Akismet للحدّ من التعليقات المزعجة والغير مرغوبة. تعرّف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

A Delicate Period for the Saudi Economy

COMMENTS:   A wide mix of ingredients are cooking in the Saudi economic pot. The final dish is Vision 2030, a thriving Saudi economy not totally dependent on oil.
But because 2030 is only 12 years away, turbo speed is required in the transformation process and this may necessitate adding a few contradictory or unpleasant ingredients to the pot.
No doubt, reducing subsidies, increasing taxes (VAT and others), raising electricity rates and petrol prices are a burden on the population and have increased the rate of domestic inflation as well as household debt.
Similarly, the levying of fees on expatriate labor is squeezing private sector operators and seems to be creating a shortage of unskilled and semi-skilled workers, which some are worried will delay construction projects, especially those that are part of the Vision 2030 plan.
While such a shortage of expat workers should have created more jobs for Saudis, their unemployment rate has now risen to 12.8%! This may be a temporary situation that should decrease as more Saudis accept jobs in the construction and other sectors. Also, with 10 million expatriate workers that are expected to gradually leave, reducing the current unemployment level shouldn’t be too far away – especially if mechanization and automation are increased in these sectors, which requires higher skills that the Saudis can acquire with commensurate and justified higher salaries.
On the positive side, the rise in oil prices this year may ease some of the unpleasantness. The IMF is now forecasting 1.9% real GDP growth for Saudi for 2018 (with a 2.3 % growth in the non-oil sector). The budget deficit is forecast to shrink to 5.6% of GDP in 2018 (was 9.3% in 2017) and to balance in 2024. This needs oil prices to remain high and production at present levels or higher.
It certainly is a delicate period for Saudi and success requires continued determination and persistence, even with some relenting here and there.

GENERALLY: Optimistic
NEGATIVE FOR: If the transformation process doesn’t continue or if the non-productive expenses shoot up. It is also negative for Iran, in the longer term, if it does not find a way to reconcile politically and diplomatically with Saudi.
POSITIVE FOR: Economically, for Saudi with a possible overflow into the Middle East. Another very positive side effect, would be the creation of a highly skilled Saudi labor force the comfortably utilizes technology, mechanization and automation.
IMPACT POTENTIAL: High
TIME SCOPE: Medium and Long Term

READ ORIGINAL:

https://www.arabianbusiness.com/politics-economics/401593-imf-says-saudi-gdp-growth-to-strengthen-to-19-in-2018
and
https://oilprice.com/Energy/Energy-General/Saudi-Budget-Deficit-Shrinks-As-Oil-Prices-Rally.html
and
https://ameinfo.com/money/economy/saudi-labor/

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.