الفوائد الأمريكية ، إلى أين؟

الفوائد الأمريكية ، إلى أين؟

dollar-544956_640

عاد البنك المركزي الأمريكي ليصدر نغمات وتنويهات عن نيته لرفع الفوائد المصرفية. ولكنه لا يبدو مقنعاً كثيراً ، ولم تأخذه الأسواق بجدية كبيرة.

كما أن تصريحاته لا تعكس وضوح رؤيته لما يحدث في الاقتصاد الأمريكي والعالمي ، ولا تشير إلى أن لديه خطة معينة وواضحة لخط سير الاقتصاد. لذلك تبدو إشاراته وكأنها تعكس ارباكه وبنفس الوقت تربك المستمعين.

فقد صرحت مؤخراً جانيت يلين ، رئيسة البنك المركزي الأمريكي ، في خطابها لمؤتمر النقد في وايومينج ، بأن الحجج لرفع الفوائد في ازدياد مستمر ، ونوه مساعدوها بأن هناك احتمال لأكثر من زيادة هذه السنة بدايةً مع شهر سبتمبر. ولكنها لم توضح المؤشرات التي بناءً عليها ستطلق زيادة الفوائد ، بل اقتصرت على تكرار العاميات مثل استمرار نسب البطالة المنخفضة وصعود نسبة الغلاء إلى مستوى 2% أو كثر ، كمؤشرات إيجابية لرفع الفائدة.

ولكن الواقع يشير إلى أن الاقتصاد الأمريكي ما زال في خمول ، ولم تظهر مؤشرات تنبئ بمعجزة قفزة قوية لأعلى. وما زال هناك خلافات بين الاقتصاديين حول مؤشرات البطالة ، بعضهم يرى أنها انخفضت إلى مستويات ممتازة ، بينما يرى آخرون أن البطالة في أسوأ أحوالها ، وأن ما حدث هو بمثابة غش في تغير مكونات معادلة المؤشر. كما ان الدين العام الأمريكي ما زال ينمو إلى مستويات مرعبة ، والصادرات (غير الأسلحة) ما زالت عند مستويات مخيبة للآمال.

ويمكن تلخيص ضبابية رؤية البنك المركزي الأمريكي بتصريح يلين في المؤتمر ، بأن الاحتمال 70% أن تكون الفوائد الأمريكية بين صفر و 3.75% في نهاية 2017! هل هناك أقل دقة من ذلك؟

لا شك أن هناك صعوبة كبيرة مع احباط معنوي ، لأي بنك مركزي يريد إدارة السياسة النقدية بينما الفوائد السائدة عند مستوى الصفر أو قريبة منه. ولكن هذا بحد ذاته لا يبرر زيادتها. كما لا يبرر العودة لسياسة “التيسير الكمي” التي عالجت المشكلة سطحياً فقط وأضرت بتوازن القطاعات الاقتصادية.

ربما الأفضل لأمريكا أن تتبع السياسة التقليدية القديمة للإدارة والمتمثلة بمقولة شكسبير في مسرحية هاملت: “لا تقرض ولا تقترض ، فإن الإقراض يضيع القرض والصديق معاً. والاقتراض يُبَلّدُ القدرة على الإدارة الحكيمة.” أي أن الإدارة المنزلية الحكيمة هي الحل لجميع دول العالم بما فيها أمريكا. فلنسلم إدارة اقتصاداتنا إلى جداتنا.

Share

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

هذا الموقع يستخدم Akismet للحدّ من التعليقات المزعجة والغير مرغوبة. تعرّف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

American Interest Rates, Whereto?

American Interest Rates, Whereto?

dollar-544956_640

The Fed is again making noises about raising interest rates. But is not very convincing, and the markets are not taking them too seriously.

The Fed itself doesn’t seem to be very clear on what is happening to the US and World economy, nor clear about what the best course of action is. Consequently, it is emitting confused and confusing signals.

Janet Yellen, the Fed Chairman, recently indicated in a speech at a monetary conference in Wyoming “that the case for a rate increase had grown stronger”, with a possibility of one or more increases coming this year beginning in September! However, she did not specify the triggers that would commence a rate hike, only indicating that continued low unemployment plus inflation at or above 2% would encourage taking action.

The US economy is still sluggish and there is no reason to believe that a miraculous upward leap is about to occur. the employment data is still in dispute among economists. Some, view it at technical full-employment levels, while others believe no such thing, and insist that the “goal posts” have been moved, and the employment index formula altered to show lesser unemployment than actual. Also, the Debt is still growing to frightening peaks and exports, other than arms sales, are dismal.

The absence of clarity at the Fed can be summarized in the following quote: “In her speech, Yellen noted that Fed officials have a wide range of views on where rates will likely be in the coming years. She said current forecasts imply a 70 percent probability they will be between 0 percent and 3.75 percent at the end of 2017.” A 70% chance of between 0% and 3.75% after a year and a half? How imprecise can one be?

No doubt, it must be difficult, as well as frustrating, for a central bank to manage monetary policy with interest rates at zero or near-zero. But, that does not justify raising them. Nor, does it justify a repeat of “Quantitative Easing”, which only superficially addressed the problem, and further skewed the economy.

It may be better for the US to simply follow good-old housekeeping principles, and remember Shakespeare’s: “Neither a borrower nor a lender be, for loan oft loses both itself and friend, and borrowing dulls the edge of husbandry”. This applies not only to the US, but also, to the rest of the world. It may be much wiser, to handover the management of our economies to our sweet old, but firm, grandmothers!

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.