كلنتون وترامب وإسرائيل – ما هي المعادلة هنا؟

كلنتون وترامب وإسرائيل – ما هي المعادلة هنا؟

presidential-election-1336480_640

اجتمع بنيامين نتنياهو ، رئيس وزراء إسرائيل ، مع المرشحين كلنتون (الديمقراطيين) و ترامب (الجمهوريين) أثناء زيارته لنيو يورك لحضور اجتماع الأمم المتحدة الأخير. طبعاً هذه ليست أول مرة يجتمع بهما ، ولكن مع ازدياد حماوة حديدة الانتخابات ، واقتراب موعد المناظرات بين المرشحين ، يبدو أن إسرائيل رغبت في استيضاح اراء ومواقف المرشحين ، ومقارنتها مع تصريحاتهما خلال المناظرات اللاحقة لمعرفة مدى التزامهما بما تعهدا به لنتنياهو. وبناءً على ذلك ، يمكن للإسرائيل دعم الملتزم وسحب البساط من تحت المتقلب. فقدرة إسرائيل على التأثير على الناخب الأمريكي معروفة وقوية.

ماذا تعهد المرشحين لنتنياهو؟

لأن الأصوات اليهودية واللوبي الصهيوني مهمة لأي مرشح أمريكي ، فقد تعهد المرشحان بتقديم الشمس والقمر ، والدعم الكامل لإسرائيل بما في ذلك العسكري ، والمالي ، والتجاري ، ومناوأة ايران ، ومحاربة حماس وحزب الله (وداعش) ، وكل ما يحلو لاذني نتنياهو سماعه. واشتدت المنافسة بين المرشحين حت دخلا في مزايدة ضد بعض.

زادت كلنتون بقشة الدعم بإضافتها لتعهد جديد قوي ، فوعدت نتنياهو بعدم السماح لأي كائن من فرض شروط سلام مجحفة بنظر إسرائيل ، بما في ذلك الأمم المتحدة. وهذا مخالف تماما مع رغبات وتوجهات الرئيس أوباما ، الذي فشل في إيجاد معادلة للسلام طوال ثمان سنوات حكمه ، واتجه الآن نحو فكرة تفويض الأمم المتحدة لتولي الأمر. كما تعهدت كلنتون برفع علاقة الشراكة بين إسرائيل وأمريكا إلى مرحلة أعلى! ولأن العلاقة بين البلدين متلاصقة ومتينة جدا ، هل هذا يعني مثلاً أن تنضم إسرائيل لأمريكا لتصبح الولاية رقم واحد وخمسين!

ولم يدعها ترامب تسلبه جائزة المزاد ، فرفع السعر وتعهد لنتنياهو بجعل القدس الموحدة عاصمة أبدية لإسرائيل. كما مدح سور إسرائيل الفاصل بينها وبين الفلسطينيين ، وطلب من نتنياهو النصائح لمساعدته في بناء سوره المزعوم مع المكسيك. والغريب هنا أن موقف ترامب في فبراير الماضي كان أقل ميلاً لإسرائيل وتعهد حينئذٍ بالحياد في القضية الفلسطينية مما أثار اللوبي الصهيوني ، فيبدو أنه خفف قليلاً من حياده في مارس. أما الآن ، فقد أعاد حساباته ، وقرر زيادة جرعة حبه لإسرائيل. المشكلة مع ترامب هي أنه رجل أعمال ويؤمن بالمقولة القائلة: “الحي يقلب” ، أي أن مواقفه تتماشى مع تقلبات السوق وليس مع مبادئ ثابتة كرجل دولة أو صاحب فكر أو فلسفة سياسية واضحة. لذلك لا يمكن لأي من طرفي النزاع العربي الإسرائيلي ضمان دعمه أو عدائه.

أما كلنتون ، فمواقفها المؤيدة لإسرائيل واضحة منذ سنين طويلة ، وكذلك تصرفاتها في منطقة الشرق الأوسط أثناء توليها وزارة الخارجية الامريكية. كما أنها مدعومة من قبل المؤسسات السياسية الأمريكية المتمثلة بكثير من مستشاري البيت الأبيض ، ووزارة الخارجية ، والمخابرات ، وفئات من قيادات الجيش ، والبنوك الكبيرة ، والصحافة، وحتى هوليود. لذلك فأن قدرة كلنتون على تحقيق أي وعود تقطعها لإسرائيل شبه مؤكدة.

أما ترامب ، فيسمونه مجازاً “مدفع غير مثبت على الأرض” Loose Cannon ، أي قد يطلق قذائفه في جميع الاتجاهات. لذلك يرون ضرورة لجمه وتطويقه بالمساعدين المؤيدين للسياسة الأمريكية الكلاسيكية المعهودة. وهذا فعلاً بدأ يحدث حتى أثناء مرحلة الترشيح ، فقد برزت علامات تطويقه تدريجياً بمستشارين بميول معروفة.

والملفت للانتباه في كل هذا ، هو أن مقابلة نتنياهو لترامب هي بحد ذاتها دعم كبير له من إسرائيل. فقد أظهرته كمرشح جدي ومعتمد من إسرائيل. خصوصاً وأن مقابلة ترامب كانت أطول مدةً من مقابلة كلنتون ، كما عقدت في بيته لا في الفندق في حال كلنتون. فماذا تخطط إسرائيل ، أو ماذا تستبق؟ هل وزنت الأوضاع واستنتجت بأن ترامب قد يصبح الرئيس القادم؟ أم هي تنصب له فخاً؟

ستتضح الأمور خلال الأسابيع القادم في المناظرات بين كلنتون وترامب. ترقبوها لتعلم لعبة الأمم ، أو على الأقل ، لعبة الثلاث ورقات.

Share

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

هذا الموقع يستخدم Akismet للحدّ من التعليقات المزعجة والغير مرغوبة. تعرّف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Clinton, Trump and Israel – What Gives?

Clinton, Trump and Israel – What Gives?

presidential-election-1336480_640

Benjamin Netanyahu, the prime minister of Israel met with both US presidential candidates; Clinton (Democrats) and Trump (Republicans) during his recent visit to New York to attend the UN general assembly meeting. Of course, this is not the first time he meets each of them, but as the presidential race is getting hotter with the approach of the candidates’ debates season, Israel may have felt that wise to reassess each candidate’s views, and then compare them to the statements and pledges they pronounce during the debates. This way Israel can differentiate between the candidate who is consistent with his pledges to Netanyahu and the candidate who isn’t. It can then throw in its support in full force behind the candidate who is true to it. Few doubt the effectiveness of the Israeli and Jewish lobby in elections of any sort in the US.

What did the candidates promise Netanyahu?

Because of the importance of the Jewish vote, both candidates fell over each other in promising Israel the Moon and the Sun and all the imaginable support between them. Military support, keep pressure in Iran, fight Hamas Hezbollah & ISIS, and all else that is music to Netanyahu’s ears. Actually, the competition between Clinton and Trump seems to have turned into an auction.

Clinton anted up aggressively by pledging not to allow anyone to impose a peace solution on Israel. This totally new pledge is quite controversial and contradicts President Obama’s intention to grant the UN a mandate to find and deploy a solution to the 68-year old Palestinian-Israeli conflict, which he has failed to bring about throughout his 8 years of tenure. Additionally, Clinton pledged to take US-Israeli partnership to the next level, if she is elected. This is quite intriguing, as the US-Israeli partnership is so close, that all that remains is for Israel to become the 51st State of America!

There was no way that Trump would let Clinton overbid him. He raised the bar and promised Netanyahu to make a united Jerusalem the eternal capital of Israel. He also, praised Netanyahu’s wall between Israel and the Palestinians and asked for tips on building his Mexican wall. It is interesting here to note that Trump’s position last February was neutral regarding the Palestinian-Israeli conflict, which angered the Jewish lobby. He watered down a bit in March, but now has recalculated his odds and decided to go for Israel. Nevertheless, Trump is a shrewd businessman and will always move with the market. He is not a statesman nor a political thinker or philosopher, and hence, one cannot rely that he wouldn’t change his mind down the road.

As for Clinton, her pro-Israeli position is very clear and well documented for many long years. As well as he policies and actions towards the Middle East during her tenure as Secretary of State. Additionally, her politics are well supported by the US government institutions as represented by part of the White House Staff, State Department, the Intelligence Services, part of the US military leadership, the big banks and even Hollywood. Accordingly, Clinton is very likely to realize any pledges she gives to Israel.

As for Trump, who is viewed by some as a “loose cannon” and liable to shoot in all directions, he will need to be well reigned by surrounding him with assistants who are clearly pro classical US policies. This seems to have already began, even at the campaign phase by peppering his advisory team with experts with well-known inclinations.

It is noteworthy in all this hullabaloo, is that Netanyahu’s meeting with Trump is in itself a clear big Israeli endorsement to him. It has label dim as a viable candidate acceptable to Israel. Especially as his meeting was longer than that with Clinton, and was held in Trump’s home rather than a hotel for Clinton. So what is Israel’s scheme? What is it preempting? Has it weighed the odds and concluded that Trump is likely to be the next president? Or is it setting a trap?

The picture will become a lot clearer over the next few weeks as the presidential debates get underway. Watch them closely, you could learn how the game of nations is played – or at least you learn how a three card scam is run.

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.