أزمة الرأسمالية؟

الوضع العالمي الراهن غير مطمئن بتاتاً ولا يعكس أي ثقة. فحب الهيمنة والسيطرة قد رفع درجة الاحتقان والتوتر العالمي إلى أعلى الدرجات تأهباً، على ما يبدو، للمعركة النهائية حول كيف سيكون حكم العالم: من قطب أوحد أم يعود إلى متعدد القطبية.

فالحرب بين عمالقة الغرب والشرق مشتعلة منذ فترة (ولو بشكل غير معلن) ويحاول كل معسكر جذب الدول الصغيرة طوعاً أو قهراً لجانبه ولا يسمح لها الوقوف على الحياد.

فسياسياً، هناك حروب قتالية جارية في سوريا، وأوكرانيا، وليبيا، واليمن، والصومال، وأفغانستان، إلخ وجميعها قابل للتصعيد لشمل أطراف خارجية جديدة. كما أن هناك تزايد مستمر في التهديدات العدائية ضد دول مثل كوريا الشمالية، وإيران، وفنزويلا، وكوبا، غيرها، وجميع هذه التهديدات قابلة بسهولة للتحول لحروب ميدانية مدمرة. وأخيراً هناك الخصومات المتنامية بين أمريكا، وروسيا، والصين، وتركيا، واليونان، وحلف الناتو، والحبشة، ومصر، الخ والتي تزداد تصعيداً وخطورةً يوماً بعد يوم.

أما اقتصادياً، فهناك حرب تجارية مكلفة بين أمريكا والصين، وسلسلة عقوبات اقتصادية على روسيا وغيرها. وكل هذا يحدث وجميع الدول والشركات والأفراد مثقلين بديون ضخمة غير قابلة للسداد ومبنية على ضمانات ركيكة من أصول وأسهم مضخمة. أي أن الوضع الاقتصادي العالمي هش بهشاشة بيت من ورق، فلا عجب أن علامات واشارات الانهيار أو الكساد المالي والاقتصادي العالمي قد بدأت تظهر بوضوح.

فالحروب مكلفة وتستهلك جزءً كبيراً من ثروات البلاد، مما يستدعي تنشيط الاقتصادات بأي وسيلة لتوليد كميات أكبر من الضرائب، ولتمكين الحكومات من الاستدانة مبالغ أكبر وأكبر. وهذا يتطلب تضخيم الأصول وتوليد فقاعات اقتصادية ومالية خطرة لا تستطيع الحكومات تمريرها إلا من خلال تخدير مواطنيها بشعور الازدهار والرفاه الزائفين وتشجيعهم على الانغماس في الاستهلاك المفرط ليعميهم عن أفعالها.

ماذا حدث؟

يبدو أن يوم الحساب الاقتصادي قد جاء الآن وبصحبته مصيبتين إضافيتين.

أول مصيبة هي اندلاع وباء كورونا في الصين مما عطل وأوقف نشاط ورشة العالم الصناعية وبذلك كشف فشل فكرة العولمة كما هي مرسومة ومطبقة. وقد بدأ هذا الوباء الآن بالانتشار عالمياً وعلينا الانتظار لمشاهدة حجم ضرره على المجتمعات والاقتصادات العالمية، ولكن المؤشرات لا تعكس تفاؤلاً.

أما المصيبة الاقتصادية الثانية، فقد أتت على شكل خلاف مزعوم بين روسيا والسعودية حول كيفية معالجة أسعار النفط المنزلقة تدريجياً.

فالسعودية متضررة أصلاً من تقلص الطلب العالمي على النفط ولكنها فوجئت بأن اندلاع وباء كورونا قد زاد من حدة هذا التقلص مما اضطرها للتحرك السريع ضمن خيارين: إما تقليص العرض العالمي للنفط من خلال زيادة تخفيض انتاج أوبك+ عما هو متفق عليه، أو زيادة الإنتاج وإغراق السوق بالنفط ليهبط سعره فيخرج منتجو النفط الحجري الأمريكي المكلف ويتقلص العرض كثيراً فيعود السعر للصعود. وقد حاولت السعودية تنفيذ هذا الخيار في 2014/2015 ولكن أصابها ضرر عظيم مما ربما دفعها الآن للخيار الأقل خطورة، ألا وهو تقليص انتاجها وإنتاج مجموعة أوبك+.

أما روسيا، فقد ارتأت بأن تقليص انتاج مجموعة أوبك+ ربما مفيد فقط على المدى القصير جداً ولكنه غير مؤثر على المدى الأبعد، كما أنه يتعارض واستراتيجياتها الجيوسياسية. كما ارتأت بأن تخفيض الإنتاج يصب في صالح منتجي النفط الحجري الأمريكي الذين سيستغلون أي تخفيض لزيادة انتاجهم والسيطرة على جزءٍ أكبر من حصة روسيا وأوبك+ السوقية، تماماً كما فعلوا بعد التقليص الأخير، الأمر الذي اعتبرته روسيا خطأً لن تكرره، وعليه رفضت الاقتراح السعودي. وكذلك يبدو أن روسيا قد قدرت أن منتجي النفط الحجري الأمريكي في وضع مالي ضعيف جداً ويشارف معظمهم على الإفلاس أو يقتربون منه، بالإضافة إلى أن الاقتصاد الأمريكي والغربي يمر في مرحلة ضعف وتقلبات لن تسمح لهم بالدفاع الفعال لإنقاذ النفط الحجري، وبالتالي بدت لها فرصة مواتية جداً لشن حملة قاتلة ضدهم.

ورَدَّت السعودية على رفض روسيا اقتراح تقليص الإنتاج بتغيير سياستها إلى العكس تماماً، أي أعلنت نيتها لإغراق السوق بالنفط وبدأت بتقديم خصومات كبيرة على أسعارها، كما أعلنت ببدء زيادة انتاجها من حوالي 9.8 مليون برميل في اليوم إلى حوالي 12-13 مليون برميل.

وقد فسر السوق هذا القرار بأن خلافاً عميقاً قد شب بين روسيا والسعودية، بينما إذا تمعنا في نتائجه فيبدو وكأنه يتوافق مع رغبة روسيا في دحر منتجي النفط الحجري الأمريكي، ولكن بشكل أكثر قوة وحدة.

فأثر القرار السعودي سيكون أقوى بكثير وقد يقصر المدة الزمنية المطلوبة لتحقيق هدف إيقاف النفط الحجري كلياً أو جزئياً، وهذا مفيد لأنه يقلص حجم الضرر على روسيا والسعودية في حال إطالة مدة حرب الأسعار.

لا شك أن الحكومة الأمريكية ستحاول التصدي لهكذا تحركات من خلال تقديم الدعم والتمويل الرخيص لمنتجي النفط الحجري، وقد ظهرت مؤخراً اشاعات عن مشروع تقديم 1 – 1.5 ترليون دولار للقطاعات المتضررة من كورونا والنفط والوضع الاقتصادي الضعيف. كما قد تتجه أمريكا للضغط على السعودية للكف عن اغراق السوق والعودة إلى سياسة تقليص الإنتاج. كذلك يمكنها منع استيراد النفط الأجنبي (من خارج القارة الأمريكية) بهدف المحافظة على سعر نفط مرتفع داخل السوق الأمريكي وبالتالي انقاذ منتجي النفط الحجري، ولكن هذه سياسة خطرة جداً وقد تولد حقداً من المستهلكين الأمريكان ضد حكومتهم، وهذا غير مقبول في سنة بها انتخابات رئاسية. وأخيراً يمكنها استخدام أدواتها المجربة بفرض عقوبات على بعض المنتجين (فخمنوا من هؤلاء).

النتائج المحتملة

قد أفرزت الغزوة السعودية الروسية على أسعار النفط نتائج فورية وكبيرة بهدف اخراج النفط الحجري من السوق وثم رفع الأسعار. ولكن هذه عملية طويلة وتستغرق سنوات، أي أن هناك فجوة زمنية time lag بين أي قرار اقتصادي وتحقيق نتائجه. وهنا تكمن الخطورة في احتمال حدوث تقلبات كبيرة وحادة في الأسواق المالية (أسواق الأسهم والمشتقات والسندات والدين والعملات إلخ) مما يؤدي إلى فرقعة جميع الفقاعات المتضخمة واحدة تلو الأخرى فينهار الهيكل الاقتصادي كلياً ويصعب إعادة بنائه.

فمن أين ستأتي الأموال لإعادة بناء ما دمر؟ خصوصاً وأن الجميع غارق في الديون (لشوشته). وهذا يعني أن الأدوات الوحيدة المتاحة ستكون مطبعة النقود ومن ثم توزيعها على الجميع بما يسمى بنقود الهليكوبتر – وطبعاً هناك خيار اندلاع حرب كبرى أو حتى عالمية.

وبافتراض أن الحكمة أو الحظ سيحولان دون نشوب حرب كبرى، من الصعب عندئذٍ تصور أن إعادة البناء (من الصفر) ستكون حسب المخطط الهندسي السابق، أي إعادة خلق نظام رأسمالي مفترس وغير مقيد ليتحكم برقاب المجتمعات والأمم. فحجم الألم والضرر الذي سيتكبده الناس والدول من الانهيار سيكون كبيراً لدرجة تحول دون سكوتهم والسماح للنخب المالية الدولية تكرار نفس الألاعيب.

فعندئذٍ قد تنجلي حقبة تاريخية جديدة تولد نظاماً اجتماعياً اقتصادياً جديداً. فقد نرى نظام الرأسمالية نموذج 2 ، أو الاشتراكية نموذج 2 ، أو حتى الاشتراكية الرأسمالية نموذج 1.5 ؟ والمهم عندئذٍ بقاء المجتمعات والدول الصغيرة صاحية وواعية كيلا تسحر وتخدع وتعود هي ومواردها أسيرة للفيلة الذين سيحاولون هرسها.

Share

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

هذا الموقع يستخدم Akismet للحدّ من التعليقات المزعجة والغير مرغوبة. تعرّف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Crisis of Capitalism?

The present status quo of the world reflects neither calm nor confidence. It has become highly charged and the natural human hegemonic tendencies have kicked into high gear for the final battle between the ‘uni’ and ‘multi-polarists’.

The world is already in an undeclared war, both kinetic and economic, pitting the behemoths of the West against those of the East. The smaller nations are being induced by hook or crook to side with one or the other and no one is allowed to sit on the fence.

Politically, there are running wars in Syria, Ukraine, Libya, Yemen Somalia, Afghanistan, etc., all of which can escalate to encompass a wider array of opponents. There are increasingly belligerent threats of war against North Korea, Iran, Venezuela, Cuba, etc., all of which can easily get out of control. And lastly, the rising adversarial tensions between the USA, Russia, China, Turkey, Greece, NATO, Ethiopia, Egypt, etc. are becoming more dangerous by the day.

Economically, there is a running trade war between the USA and China, economic sanctions on Russia and others and everyone is overloaded with unpayable debt flimsily supported by inflated assets and stock markets – verily an unstable house of cards. Now, the threat of economic and financial collapse and/or recession is becoming evident everywhere.

But wars are expensive and consume a lot of treasure, which necessitates the propping up of economies to generate more taxes, increase public borrowing and inflate assets creating dangerous bubbles. Governments can get away with such chicanery by lulling their citizens into a false sense of prosperity and comfort; encouraging them to happily continue their exuberant consumption with total disregard for their governments’ deeds.

What Happened?

The chickens have finally come home to roost, and the only thing missing was a “Black Swan” event (or two), which providence duly supplied.

The first event was the Corona Virus epidemic COVID-19 erupting in China and upsetting the smooth running of the world’s primary workshop and exposing the impracticality of the presently envisaged concept of Globalism. COVID-19 is now making its rounds amongst the nations of the world and its final outcome and extent of damage to societies and economies appear gloomy.

The second event was the supposed disagreement between Russia and Saudi on how to tackle the foundering oil prices.

Saudi, already unhappy with the persistent decline in global oil demand, realized that the COVID-19 was rapidly aggravating this decline. It had two options; either to decrease OPEC+ oil production beyond the cuts that were are already in place, or increase production to flood the market and crash prices to drive out US Shale Oil production and dramatically reduce world supply. But as it had tried this tactic in 2014/15 and was badly burned, it opted for the less risky option of reducing its own supplies and those of the OPEC+ members.

Russia, on the other hand, viewed cutting OPEC+ supplies as ineffective especially beyond the very short term as well as contradicts its strategic priorities. Also, it had seen how the previous attempts to cut production only resulted in the loss of its market share to the US Shale producers and thus had no intention of repeating that mistake. Additionally, it assessed that the Shale producers were not only financially weak, but many were literally bankrupt, or close to it, which makes it an opportune time to deal them the crippling blow that Saudi attempted a few years earlier, especially in light of the current financially turbulent and economically weaker US and Western economies.

Saudi retorted by reversing its policy and went beyond Russia’s vision. It began flooding the oil market by cutting prices and threatening to increase its production from approx. 9.8 million barrels per day to approx. 12-13 million barrels.

While this has been interpreted as a disagreement with and a rebuff to Russia, it actually seems to be in line with Russia’s stance of undermining the Shale producers, but in a more acute manner.

In fact, this aggressive approach could have a greater impact and dramatically shorten the time for Shale’s partial or full demise and thus, reduce the risk of extended economic damage to both Russia and Saudi.

Of course, the US government may attempt to counter such moves by throwing cheap credit/money at the Shale producers and there are rumors of a US$ 1 – 1.5 Trillion lifeline for all sectors negatively affected. Alternatively, it can pressure Saudi to stand-down and return to a policy of restricting OPEC’s oil production. As a last resort, the US could block all oil imports into the US to keep local US prices sufficiently high for the Shale producers’ survival, but this would be reckless and would generate a lot of internal American ill-will towards the government, especially in an election year. Of course, it can always use its well-tested bag of tricks and sanction specific oil producers (guess who?).

Possible Outcomes

The Russian/Saudi foray has already depressed oil prices and is likely to lower them further in the hope of knocking out Shale and raising prices. But this will take some time and the interim dangerous time lag could trigger total turmoil in the financial markets (equities, derivatives, debt, currencies, etc.) and pop one bubble after the other. The ensuing collapse would be global and would be difficult to rebuild.

Where would the enormous funding needed for rebuilding come from? Everybody is up to their eyeballs in debt, which leaves the money printing presses and helicopter money as the only tools available – other than global war.

And assuming that we are spared by providence from a global war, rebuilding ‘the rise from the ashes’ is unlikely to replicate the existing unfettered predatory capitalistic model. The collapse would have inflicted so much pain and destruction on people, societies and institutions that they are unlikely to remain quiet if the elites attempt to follow the same blueprint.

We may be on the threshold of a new era and a different sociopolitical model; Capitalism v2.0, Socialism v2.0 or even Soc-Cap v.1.5. Accordingly, the weaker and/or poorer parties should be aware (woke) so as not to be beguiled again and, if necessary, be ready to stand up and speak their minds despite the likelihood of being trampled by the elephants.

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.