هل تستطيع المعاهدات منع الحروب؟

يؤكد التاريخ حتمية نشوب الحروب. فإنها متأصلة في العقل البشري – كما في جميع الكائنات الأخرى. فيبدأ الطفل باستخدام العنف والعداء بسن مبكرة مع اخوانه واخواته للحصول على الألعاب والملذات، ويستمر ذلك في المدرسة، ومن ثم ينمو ويزداد خبثاً ولؤماً وشراً حتى سن الشيخوخة. فالطمع والأنانية أساس العنف والعداء والحروب.

وقد تَمَيَّزَ البشر، ربما بسبب قدرتهم الذهنية الأكبر، في محاولة كبح العداء والعنف المتأصل فيهم، خصوصاً بعد تطورهم من مجتمعات متنقلة تعتمد على الصيد وجمع النباتات إلى مجتمعات مستقرة في قرىً بدائية، ومن ثم في مدن، وفي النهاية في ممالك وامبراطوريات. وحاولوا تنظيم علاقاتهم عبر العادات والتقاليد العائلية والقبلية، وثم عبر الضوابط والحدود الدينية، وثم من خلال القوانين المدنية التي صممتها نخب مجتمعاتهم. إلا أن جميعها فشل واستمرت الحروب بلا ردع أو قيود. بل ازدادت شراسةً ودماراً، خصوصاً مع تحويل كثير من الاختراعات والابتكارات إلى ميدان القتال، مثل: الأسلحة البرونزية، عربات القتال عند الفراعنة، المنجنيق، النار الإغريقي، القوس الطويل، البارود، الطائرات، الطاقة الذرية، الليزر، رحلات الفضاء الخارجي، إلخ.

ما هي المعاهدات؟

وقد حاول البشر ضبط ومنع نشوب الحروب من خلال المعاهدات، والتحالفات، والهدنات. ولكنها جميعاً كانت مجرد غش وكذب، وبالتالي مفعولها كان قصير المدى. فما من معاهدة كانت صادقة ولا من مصافحة ملزمة. والتاريخ مليء بحالات نكث المعاهدات أو إلغائها، وعددها أكثر بكثير من حالات النكث التي شاهدناها خلال البضع سنوات الماضية، أو التي سنشاهدها قريباً.

والمشكلة ليست بالمعاهدات. فهي مجرد عمليات تمويه يستخدمها الباغي الطامع لأنه غير قادر حالياً على اختطاف مبتغاه بنجاح، وبالتالي يستخدمها لشراء الوقت. وكذلك بالنسبة للطرف الآخر “الضحية” الذي يرى في المعاهدة فراراً مؤقتاً من كارثة، فيؤجل وقوعها ريثما يهتدي إلى مخرج. وإنما المشكلة في الطمع المفرط الذي يهدف الاستحواذ على خيرات وأصول الآخرين من أرض، وموارد طبيعية، أسواق، وخبرات وعلوم، وسيطرة سياسية، إلخ. وبالرغم من أن الطمع للهيمنة والسيطرة الإقليمية أو العالمية ظاهرة قوية جداً يصعب التحكم بها، إلا أن لها نهاية، أي أنها تستمر إلى أن تستغرق مداها ثم تنتهي وتندثر. ولكن للأسف، سرعان ما تظهر من جديد في مكانٍ آخر.

وتتفاقم مشكلة الطمع والأنانية مع الأقوياء لأن علاجها أصعب بكثير. فلدى الأقوياء القدرة على تجاهل القوانين والأعراف الدولية، وقرارات المنظمات والمحاكم العالمية. كما بإمكانهم تقرير وبشكل فردي مبررات الهجوم على من هم أضعف منهم. وقد يتخذ هجومهم أشكالاً مختلفة مثل: حرب دموية مدمرة، أو عقوبات، أو مقاطعة، أو تدخلات في شؤون الغير، أو خنق اقتصاد منافس أو غير مطيع، أو تحريض على الاضطرابات المدنية، أو تأجيج حروب أهلية، إلخ. وكل ذلك لإشباع طمعهم غير المتناهي والذي يتم إخفاءه خلف قناع من التسميات المبهمة مثل: الاستراتيجيات والسياسات الجيوسياسية أو متطلبات الأمن القومي.

معاهدات الأسلحة النووية

وقد ذكر الكاتب جورج فريدمان بتاريخ 22 أكتوبر 2018 في موقع Geopolitical Futures للدراسات الاستراتيجية (سابقاً مؤسس مركز Stratfor)، بما معناه أنه لا قيمة للمعاهدات النووية لأن الرادع الحقيقي لنشوب حرب نووية هو فظاعة الدمار الناتج عنها والذي يصيب الأطراف المتحاربة بالدرجة الأولى، وبالتبعية بقية العالم. وإن كان هذا الطرح مقدمة لتبرير نية أمريكا للانسحاب من معاهدة الأسلحة النووية متوسطة المدى والموقعة سنة 1987 بين أمريكا والاتحاد السوفييتي، فإنه بحاجة لإعادة نظر لأن منطقه يبدو منحازاً نحو استنتاج مستهدف مسبقاً، ألا وهو: “لا ضرر من الغاء أمريكا للمعاهدة، ولا داعي للعالم أن يستنكر هذا القرار الذي يزيد من مخاطر واحتمالات دمار البشرية”. والظريف في الأمر هو أنه يمكن استخدام هذا المنطق لتبرير رغبة معظم دول العالم في تملّك قنابل نووية، مما يقوض سياسة عدم انتشار الأسلحة النووية التي تطبق بصرامة منذ عقود طويلة (بل تسببت بحروبٍ مدمرة في العراق وليبيا، وتهدد الآن كوريا الشمالية وإيران). وبالرغم من ذلك، لا نتوقع السماح لها تملك القنابل النووية، ونتصور تبرير الغرب مبني على الافتراض بأن جميع دول العالم غير النووية تدار من قبل ناس لا يمكن الوثوق بقدرتهم على فهم مخاطر ونتائج تملك واستخدام القنابل النووية (وماذا عن هيروشيما وناغاساكي؟). وقدم فريدمان مثالاً مزدوجاً يدعم رأيه، وباطنياً يبرر رفض نشر الأسلحة النووية في العالم، حيث ادعى بأن “المجنون” ماو تسي تونج (عظيم الصين الأسبق) دأب على التهديد بتدمير العالم إلى أن تملّك قنابل نووية، فأوقف تهديداته فوراً.

وبينما نتفق بأن المعاهدات لا تمنع الحروب – وإنما تؤجلها – إلا أننا نعتقد بأن المعاهدات التي تقلص من تطوير نماذج أسلحة جديدة أكثر قوةً وفتكاً، وتحدد مناطق حظر نصبها، تساهم بشكل فعال في تقليص دخول أسلحة مدمرة جديدة إلى ميادين القتال هي حلول مؤقتة مهمة. كما أنها توفر الوقت الإضافي الضروري لمعالجة أزمات اندلاع فورات “الطمع” في العلاقات الدولية لعلها تمنع تحولها إلى حروب مدمرة.

الجانب الاقتصادي للمعاهدات

ولكن الأهم في موضوع المعاهدات (ولم يتطرق له المفكر الاستراتيجي) يتعلق في موضوع الاقتصاد. فجميع الحروب مكلفة، وعندما يستحوذ الطامع الباغي على جميع الأراضي المتوفرة ويقضي على جميع الضحايا، لن يجد موارداً جديداً يغذيه فينهار من ثقل وزن مصاريفه وتكاليفه. والتاريخ مليء بالأمثلة لنهايات مأساوية لإمبراطوريات عظيمة أفلست فاندثرت.

فالعالم غارق حالياً بالديون القياسية وليس هناك أمل في معالجتها، ناهيكم سدادها. كما لا توجد دولة، بغض النظر عن حجمها أو ثرائها، لديها مناعة ضد مرض التبذير والصرف الأهوج الذي يؤدي إلى عجوزات مزمنة في ميزانياتها. فما بالكم بإلغاء المعاهدة النووية وإطلاق العنان لسباق تسلّح جديد مكلف؟ ولأي هدف؟ فالأقوياء يمتلكون حالياً أعداد من القنابل النووية كافية لتدمير الكرة الأرضية عشرات المرات، فإضافة أسلحة جديدة لن يرجح كفة أي من الخصوم، خصوصاً على المدى المتوسط والأطول. قد تكون هذه هدية مغرية لمصانع وتجار الأسلحة، ولكن من الأجدى تحويل المصاريف العسكرية نحو المشاريع التنموية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية ذات العائد الحقيقي.

الحل الحقيقي للحروب

نستنتج هنا بأن المشكلة الحقيقية هي الطمع والأنانية المفرطة التي لا يمكن مَحْيّها من العقول البشرية. ولكن ربما من الممكن ضبطها وتخفيف وقعها السلبي من خلال التصرف الجماعي الدولي. فكما أن الجاموس الأفريقي الأعزل يقع ضحية سهلة للأسد، إلا أن تعاون قطيع الجواميس يُمَكِّنَهُم من الصمود في أرضهم ورد صاع الأسد صاعين، مما عادة يؤدي إلى مقتل أو جرح الأسد وإلغاء الهجوم.

فهل لدى البشرية القدرة الذهنية والإرادة لإيجاد وسيلة لضبط ومجابهة “الطمع” والبغي؟ قد يتطلب الأمر مَحي كل ما كتب سابقاً على السبورة، وبالبدء بصفحة بيضاء لرسم قوانين وشروط وإجراءات جديدة للتعامل بين الدول. وفشلنا هنا يعني فشل العالم بما فيه مستقبل الأجيال القادمة، أي أن الخسارة ستعم الجميع… بغض النظر من يكسب المعركة الحالية.

Share

أضف تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

هذا الموقع يستخدم Akismet للحدّ من التعليقات المزعجة والغير مرغوبة. تعرّف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Do Treaties Eliminate Nuclear Wars?

History teaches that wars are inevitable. They are genetically ingrained into the human mind – as well as the rest of the Animal Kingdom. The use of violence and belligerence to get what one wants, starts as early as childhood among siblings, later on in the school yard and then progresses to become more innovative, nasty and evil right into ripe old age. Selfish “Want” is the source of all belligerence and, hence, wars.

Probably because of their slightly more advanced cognizant abilities, humans have always tried to curb their inherent belligerence, especially as they evolved from Hunter-Gatherers to a primitive sedentary state and thence to early villages, city states and eventually to kingdoms and empires. They tested and applied various forms of kin/clan relationship rules, religious constraints and guidelines, and lastly state laws that were designed by kings or, thereafter, the elites. But none of these attempts worked, and wars continued unfettered. In fact, they became more vicious, bloody and devastating as new inventions were diverted to military use; bronze weapons, chariots, catapults, Greek-fire, longbows, gunpowder, aircrafts, nuclear energy, lasers, space travel, etc.

What are Treaties?

Humans tried to control wars by treaties, alliances and truces, but they were all fake and, hence, short term in nature. They were never worth the paper they were written on – or the handshake that sealed them. History contains many more abrogated or reneged-on treaties than what we have seen in the past couple of years – or are likely to see in the near future.

The issue is not treaties, which are basically a camouflage to hide the present unreadiness or incapability of a potential aggressor to grab what he wants and, hence, both signatories use them to buy time. The problem is the unbridled “Want” – the lusting over others’ assets, be they land, natural resources, markets, know-how, political control, etc. In short, the desire for regional or global hegemony and control is irresistible, but always ends, and badly at that!

The problem becomes much bigger when “Want” and selfish desires are manifested by the mighty and powerful, for they cannot be reined in. The mighty are able to ignore with impunity international laws and norms, international institutions or tribunals and can unilaterally decide justifications for their aggression on those weaker than them. This aggression can take various forms such as destructive kinetic wars, sanctions, embargoes, interference in others’ internal affairs, choking of economies, instigating civil unrest and civil wars – All to satisfy their insatiable “Want”, which is then sloppily disguised intellectually as geopolitical strategies and national security needs.

Nuclear Weapons Treaties

George Friedman, of Geopolitical Futures (ex-Stratfor), wrote on October 22, 2018 that nuclear treaties are of little value because the real deterrent to nuclear war is the fear of the human devastation it would bring upon the warring parties themselves and, incidentally, the whole world. If this argument is a prelude to justify the US administration’s intent to withdraw from the 1987 Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces Treaty (INF) between the USA and the USSR (Russia), then it needs reexamination as it seems skewed towards a predetermined conclusion; mainly that there is no harm in abrogating the INF treaty and the world should not react negatively towards the US for increasing the risk of human destruction. However, its logic may also be used to vindicate the desire of many countries to own nuclear weapons, which contradicts and undermines the decades-old hysterically rigid policy of non-proliferation (which has caused at least two wars; Libya and Iraq and is now threatening Iran and North Korea). The likely answer to such a demand may be premised on the haughty assumption that all the non-nuclear countries of the world are run by unreliable people, who cannot be trusted to understand the risks and outcomes of using A-bombs (Hiroshima & Nagasaki?). A double-edged example is cited by the article about “crazy” Mao Zedong (the great Chinese leader) threatening the world with annihilation up and until he got his own nukes, whence he immediately ceased all threats.

While we agree that treaties do not prevent wars – but only delay them – we do think that treaties which limit the development of evermore sophisticated weapons and restrict their geographic deployment can rein-in the ever-growing destructive power of new weapons entering the arena. At the least, such treaties may buy the sourly needed time till the issue of selfish “Want” is addressed in world international relations, if it ever is.

Treaties and Economics

However, a more salient aspect to treaties is economics (Not addressed by the strategist). All wars are expensive and, at the end of the line, when an aggressor runs out of new territory or victims to usurp, he usually collapses from the sheer weight of costs. History is full of examples of the dire end of bankrupt mighty empires. Presently, the world economy is drowning in record debt and no country is immune to budgetary runaway expenses and deficits, let alone to contemplate embarking on a new expensive arms-race. And for what end? The mighty already have enough nuclear bombs to destroy the world many times over, adding more is not likely to dramatically tip the scale in any party’s favor, at least in the medium to longer term. It would certainly be a bonanza for the weapons manufacturers and suppliers, but the truth of the matter is that they would be a lot better off diverting their military expenditures towards their social and economic development.

The Real Solution

The real problem boils down to the issue of the selfish “Want”. While it cannot be erased from the human psyche, it can be controlled and mitigated by collective counter action. Just as a solitary single Buffalo or Gnu can easily succumb to a lion, their joint effort to stand their ground and retaliate usually results in the death or injury of the lion and calling off the attack.

Does humanity have the intelligence and wherewithal to find a way to control geopolitical “Want” and lust? We may need to wipe the slate clean and invent an entirely new set of rules of interaction between nations. Otherwise, all will soon be lost, no matter who wins the battle.

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.