مرض السكري وخطة الإصلاح

مرض السكري وخطة الإصلاح

تعثر جاسم في الشارع فسقط وشج رأسه. أسرع المارة إليه وضمدوا جراحه، ثم تفرقوا كل في دربه، فرحين بأنهم قد عالجوا مشكلة المسكين. ولكن علاجهم كان سطحياً وآنيًّ ومؤقتاً، ويخاطب الظاهر لا الباطن أو الأساس والسبب. كذلك خطة الإصلاح الحالية، تخاطب الجانب الظاهر والآني والمؤقت. فهي تقدم علاجات محاسبية لعجز الميزانية.

ولأن هذه لم تكن أول مرة يتعثر فيها جاسم، فقد نصحه أهله بزيارة طبيب لفحصه ودراسة هذه الظاهرة. وفعلاً خضع لفحوصات مختبرية وطبية بينت أنه مصاب بداء السكري ويحتاج لعلاج ودواء تم وصفه له. لا نجد في الخطة فحص مماثل للتعرف على أساس المشكلة وتحليلها ووصف العلاج المناسب لها. لم نطلع على تحليل وافي وعميق مدعم بالأرقام لأصل وتفاصيل المشكلة، ولم يتم تقديم خيارات ممكنة للعلاج مع تبيان ميزات كل خيار. أي لم تخضع لتحليل مالي وافي يزيل غيوم الشك في جديتها وأنها ليست مجرد حفلة تجارب.

ثم زار جاسم ممرضة الطبيب التي علمته كيفية أخذ الدواء وحجم الجرعات، ودربته على تجهيز إبرة الانسولين وكيفية غزها في بطنه. وتعتبر هذه الخطوات التنفيذية الإدارية الضرورية لنجاح برنامج العلاج. ولم تلتفت خطة الإصلاح لهذا الجانب، فلم تدرس قدرة الجهاز الإداري والتنفيذي في الدولة على تطبيق الإصلاحات والتوصيات المقترحة، وبالتالي قد تضيع فائدة العلاج بسبب سوء التطبيق، فيتفاقم المرض.

ثم عاد جاسم إلى الطبيب الذي استدعى أخصائي تغذية وشرح له ضرورة تغيير نمط حياته، وحدد له الأغذية التي يجب أن يتجنبها، وطريقة أكله، والرياضة التي عليه ممارستها، وكل ذلك حتى يضمن فعالية الدواء. كما حذره بجدية صارمة من أن إهمال تغيير نمط حياته سيؤدي تدريجياً إلى ضعف فعالية الدواء، فتزداد شدة المرض حتى يضعف قلبه ويرتفع ضغطه، وثم يصيب الكلاوي ويدمرها، ويضرب عيونه وبصره، وأخيراً يبدأ بفقدان أطرافه للغرغرينا إلى أن يموت. ويمكن ترجمة هذه الخطوة إلى التحليل والحلول الاقتصادية، المفقودة في الخطة، والتي تحاول تغيير أسلوب حركة وعمل الاقتصاد حتى تضمن له طول العمر، أو بالمفهوم الدارج اليوم، الاستدامة.

وقبل أن يغادر جاسم العيادة، وضع الطبيب له برنامج مراجعة شهري لإجراء الفحوص الدورية للتأكد من فعالية العلاج، وإن لزم عمل التعديلات عليه. كذلك افتقرت الخطة لبرنامج زمني ولمؤشرات قياس نجح أو فشل والتي يمكن من خلالها تعديل مسار الخطة إلى الأحسن.

طبعاً، بعد كل هذا الجهد، قد تصدم جاسم سيارة في الشارع، ولكن هذا حادث خارجي طارئ. وبالرغم من أن يمكن معالجة جاسم في حينه حسب القدرات والإمكانيات المتوفرة عندئذٍ، ولكن من الأفضل وضع التصورات المحتملة مسبقاً، والتجهيز لها بخطط ب ، ج ، د ، إلخ، حتى لا نفاجئ بالطارئ وتضيع الفرص. وهنا أيضاً، لا نرى في الخطة أي خطط بديلة احتياطية.

يقال العجلة من الشيطان… والحكمة في التريث إلى إتمام الدراسة الوافية.

Share

رأي واحد على “مرض السكري وخطة الإصلاح”

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

هذا الموقع يستخدم Akismet للحدّ من التعليقات المزعجة والغير مرغوبة. تعرّف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

The Financial Reform Plan and Diabetes

The Financial Reform Plan and Diabetes

Sammy stumbled on the sidewalk and fell bumping his head on the pavement. The passersby rushed to help him and bandage his bleeding forehead, and then went off happy that they had reversed this man’s misfortune. But, in reality, their treatment was superficial, for they only addressed its pressing visible aspect, and in temporary manner. They did not look for the root problem or its causes. Similarly, the proposed Kuwait Financial Reform Plan addresses the pressing visible budget deficit, and in a temporary manner. It delivers an accounting or bookkeeping solution to a very complex problem.

As this was not the first time that Sammy had stumbled, his family implored him to seek medical help. Heeding their advice, he visited a doctor, who after extensive examination and lab tests, concluding that Sammy was suffering from diabetes, and prescribed appropriate medication. We do not see detailed examinations in the reform plan that identify the root problems of the deficit and the weakness of the economy. Nor does it present in-depth analysis supported by financial figures. It does not offer different solution options, each with its own pros and cons justifications. In short, the plan does not contain thorough financial analysis that eliminates all doubts regarding its seriousness, validity and that it not just another bout of trial-and-error experimentation.

Sammy was then sent to the clinic nurse, who taught him about his medication, its doses, and how to ingest it. She also demonstrated how to sterilize the insulin injection and inject himself in the stomach. These administrative and procedural steps are essential for the successful implementation of any treatment program. Unfortunately, the reform plan does not cover this all-important aspect that would give comfort regarding the existing civil service cadres’ administrative and operational capability to implement the plan recommendations. It would be tragic if their inaptness negated the expected benefits of the treatment, thus worsening the illness.

After that, Sammy returned to the Doctor who called-in a nutritionist to drill into him the importance of changing his lifestyle, identify the foods to avoid, how and when to eat, and the exercises he must introduce into his daily life. This, he was informed, is complimentary to his medication and ensures its efficacy. He was also, very seriously, warned that any negligence in changing his lifestyle will deteriorate the effectiveness of the medicines, and cause the diabetes to worsen, affecting his heart, raise his blood pressure, lead to renal kidney failure, ocular damage and loss of vision and, lastly, he will begin to lose his limbs to gangrene, followed by death. This lifestyle change corresponds to the economic analysis and solutions that are missing in the plan. Their role is to reform the economy and ensure its long life, or in today’s terms, ensure sustainability.

Before Sammy left the clinic, the doctor drew up a schedule for monthly checkup visits and tests to assess his progress, and to make any necessary adjustments or alterations. The reform plan fails to provide such milestones, timetables and performance assessment indicators, through which adjustments and improvements can be made.

Of course, after all this trouble, Sammy can still get run over by a car in the street! But this would be a random external event, and can be attended to immediately as per available capabilities. Nevertheless, it would be wise to cover unforeseen eventualities with alternative plans A, B, C, etc., so as not to be caught totally off-guard, and lose rare opportunities. Here too, the plan ignores alternative plans and sub-plans.

They say haste is from the Devil… while wisdom calls for careful planning and study.

Share

One thought on “The Financial Reform Plan and Diabetes”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.