هل التخصيص هو الحل؟

هل التخصيص هو الحل؟

هناك فهم خاطئ لمفهوم التخصيص. فهو أولاً، مبدأ متشعب وبالتالي معقد، وليس هناك إجماع حول مبررات تطبيقه وفي أي حالات، وماذا يشمل بالضبط، وكيف يتم تطبيقه، وما هي نتائجه الفعلية في دول أخرى. وثانياً، قد رُوِجَ له بجرعات كبيرة من الدعاية، وزين بمكياج ليظهر كحبة دواء واحدة، إن أخذناها طبنا من جميع أمراضنا، وتحولنا فوراً إلى دولة عصرية متطورة، وازداد رفاهنا وثراءنا! وبينما كلنا نطمح لهكذا نتيجة مفرحة، إلا أننا لا نعتقد أن حبة الدواء هذه هي السبيل إليها، بل نعتقد بأن مساوئ التخصيص (في حالتنا) تفوق حسناتها النظرية. فدعونا نفحص صحة وفعالية هذا الدواء السحري، من خلال مراجعة سريعة للافتراضات الرئيسية التي بنى مؤيدو التخصيص فهمهم عليها، والتي تنحصر في افتراضين: ضعف قدرات الدولة، وعظمة قدرة القطاع الخاص.

أولاً: افتراض ضعف قدرة الدولة:

يفترض مؤيدو التخصيص بأن الدولة لا تستطيع إدارة أعمالها ومشاريعها للأسباب التالية:

1) ليس لديها كفاءات إدارية.

2) لا تستطيع ضبط جودة ما تقدمه من سلع أو خدمات.

3) لا تطمح للربح، مما يقلل من اهتمامها في تقليص المصاريف، فتحلق تكاليفها إلى السماء، وتفتح المجال لنمو وانتشار للفساد.

ولكن ينسى (أو يتناسى) هؤلاء المؤيدون بأن:

1) الدولة قادرة على تعيين أفضل الكفاءات لإدارة المشاريع وضبط الجودة وتخفيض المصاريف. وفعلاً، لديها نخب من أفضل الكفاءات في مجالات عديدة، قد لا نبصرهم لقلة عددهم نسبةً إلى إجمالي كادر القطاع العام الضخم.

فظروف سرعة وحجم نمو البلد خلال النصف قرن الماضي فرضت على الدولة تعيين واستيعاب أعداد كبيرة ومتزايدة من المواطنين في وظائف الدولة، بهدف توفير لهم دخل وعيش كريم، مما أدى في النهاية إلى ترهل الجهاز الحكومي الذي نشتكي من أنه غير منتج. أي أن المشكلة اجتماعية وسياسية أكثر منها إدارية أو اقتصادية. ربما كان بالإمكان تدارك النتائج السلبية (غير المرئية حينئذٍ)، إلا أن إيرادات النفط كانت تتدفق بغزارة عظيمة بررت إطفاء ظماء الشعب. فمن السهل الحكم والانتقاد بأثر رجعي على ما سبق، والادعاء بأنه كان على الحكومة أن تخطط بأسلوب أفضل وتقنن تعيين الموظفين وتحاسبهم بشكل أكثر صرامة وقسوة. ولكن لا ننسى (والكثير ربما لم يكن موجوداً حينئذٍ) بأن هذا حدث في الخمسينات والستينات من القرن الماضي، لما كانت البلد في طفولتها، أي في بداية انفتاحها على الخير والنعمة. ثم، أصبح هذا التوظيف الكثيف عادة وسابقة لم يمتلك أي طرف الشجاعة أو الإرادة لإيقافها أو تقنينها – وما زالت كذلك.

وبالرغم من كل ذلك، تبقى الحقيقة أن الدولة قادرة على تعيين أفضل الكفاءات، إذا عزمت على ذلك، بالرغم من ربما اعتراضات المتنفذون من أصحاب المصالح، والمستفيدون من الوضع القائم.

2) تمتلك الدولة المال الوفير لتمويل المشاريع التي يهابها القطاع الخاص. كما أن وجودها يحمي هذه المشاريع من تقلبات السوق، التي عادة تسحب بساط السيولة من تحت كثير من مشاريع القطاع الخاص، وتلقيها تحت رحمة ضغوط البنوك ومموليها ودائنيها.

3) تمتلك الدولة مساحات شاسعة من الأراضي التي يمكنها استغلالها لأي مشروع.

4) تستطيع الدولة احتكار المشاريع الإنتاجية والخدماتية من باب أنها جوهرية للمجتمع أو للاقتصاد أو للأمن.

5) تستطيع الدولة إعادة تصنيف بعض مشاريعها كتجارية تهدف للربح (المعتدل)، وبالتالي تخضعها لمفاهيم التشغيل التجاري البحت.

ثانياً: افتراض عظمة قدرات القطاع الخاص:

ويفترض مؤيدو التخصيص بأن القطاع الخاص قادر على استلام جزءً كبيراً من أعمال الدولة الإنتاجية والخدماتية وإدارتها بشكل أفضل بكثير، ومن ثم قادر على أخذ زمام المبادرة لتطوير وتنمية الاقتصاد، وذلك للأسباب التالية:

1) توفر الكفاءات الإدارية بغزارة في القطاع الخاص.

2) تطبيق مبدأ الربح والخسارة يضمن حرص القطاع الخاص وتفانيه للارتقاء بالجودة وتقليص المصاريف.

3) القطاع الخاص بطبيعته هو المحرك والمحفز الأساسي لنمو الاقتصاد وتحسين ميزان مدفوعات الدولة.

ولكن ينسى (أو يتناسى) المؤيدون الحقائق التالية:

1) يعتمد القطاع الخاص في الكويت (ومعظم الدول الخليجية) شبه كلياً على مصروفات الدولة. فالدولة هي المصدر الأكبر لإيرادات القطاع الخاص، إما عن طريق مشترياتها للسلع والخدمات عبر المناقصات وأوامر الشراء، وإما عن طريق ما تصرفه كرواتب ومكافئات لموظفيها مما يشكل قوة شرائية ضخمة لسلع وخدمات القطاع الخاص. فلو توقفت الدولة عن الصرف أو قلصته، لارتبك القطاع الخاص وعلت صيحات الإغاثة منذرة بالتعثر والإفلاس.

2) لا شك أن هناك كفاءات إدارية ممتازة في القطاع الخاص، خصوصاً تلك التي نمت خلال العقدين الماضيين، ولكنها ما زالت قليلة ونادرة ولا توفر التغطية الكافية للاقتصاد ككل. أما بقية القطاع الخاص، فما زال يسير بنمطه التقليدي ومعتمداً كلياً على الإدارة والعمالة الوافدة. ويوضح التاريخ القريب مدى ضعف قدرات القطاع الخاص وارتباكه في مواجهة كل أزمة من الأزمات الاقتصادية الكثيرة التي مرت على البلاد.

ومن ناحية أخرى، هناك قلق من أن شدة اهتمام القطاع الخاص بالربح قد يطغى على مبدأ الجودة أو السعر العادل – فما أكثرها حالات الغش والاحتيال والاختلاس التي تنشرها الصحف بانتظام (مع عدم معرفة حجم ما لم ينشر).

أما بالنسبة للفساد، فله جانبان، الأول يدفع والثاني يقبض. والجانب الذي يدفع هو القطاع الخاص، الذي ربما يجد نفسه مضطراً لذلك ليحافظ على مستويات ربحيته.

3) التوظيف أحد أهم جوانب مفهوم النمو الاقتصادي، بما في ذلك تقليص نسبة البطالة (الحقيقية والمقنعة). وباستعراض أداء القطاع الخاص عبر النصف قرن الماضي، نجد أنه كان المدخل الرئيسي لزيادة العمالة الوافدة (الماهرة وغير الماهرة) على حساب العمالة الوطنية.

أما بالنسبة لميزان المدفوعات الخارجية، فيعود فائضه إلى صادرات النفط، التي لولاها لغرق الاقتصاد من ثقل عجزه، وهبط سعر صرف الدينار إلى مستوى العملات الرديئة. فصافي أثر القطاع الخاص كان دائماً سلبياً في هذا المجال.

ماذا تعني “حبة” التخصيص؟

ولكن إذا كان الأمر كما ذكرنا أعلاه، لماذا هذا التسارع من الحكومة والقطاع الخاص على تطبيق التخصيص، حتى بدون دراسة واضحة لنتائجه المحتملة على الكويت (والدول الخليجية)؟ نخشى أن أحد أسباب تسارع الحكومة، هو رغبتها في غسل يديها من المصيبة التي آلت إليها، وعدم وجود رؤية واضحة أو إرادة ومن ثم قدرة على معالجتها. أما بالنسبة للقطاع الخاص، فنخشى أن أحد أسباب تسارعه هو سباقه للحصول على أولوية دور للفوز بالجزء الهبر من أعمال الحكومة، خصوصاً تلك التي تمنحه امتيازات احتكارية، وأراضٍ مجانية أو بأسعار رمزية، وإجراءات وقوانين مفصلة لصالحه، وطلب مضمون على سلعه أو خدماته بالأسعار المضخمة بلا منافس – وكل ذلك بدون أن يدفع سعرها الحقيقي (الملموس وغير الملموس). فكيف يمتنع أو يتأخر عن هكذا فرصة ذهبية؟

ما هو البديل للتخصيص؟

بالرغم ما يدعيه البنك الدولي (الموقر) بأن التخصيص هو الحل، وبالرغم من النظريات الاقتصادية التي تدعو للتخصيص، إلا أن التخصيص ليس دائماً الحل الصائب لجميع الحالات. فقد فرض البنك الدولي عبر النصف قرن الماضي مئات السياسات الاقتصادية على دول العالم الثاني والثالث التي انتهى كثير منها غارقاً في ديون جعلته أسيراً، لا بل عبداً، للدول المتقدمة وبنوكها وشركاتها العالمية. أما بالنسبة لعلم الاقتصاد، فعندما يتحدث عن التخصيص، يقصد بالدرجة الأولى توظيف العمالة الوطنية وتقليص مصاريف الدولة (بالإضافة إلى توفير تمويل جديد، وحسن إدارة وانتاجية…إلخ). أي يتوقع منه استيعاب عمالة الدولة بالإضافة إلى توظيف عمالة وطنية جديدة. وهذا لا أمل في تحقيقه في المجتمعات الخليجية، على الأقل في المستقبل المنظور.

لذلك، يجب التفكير بحلول جديدة مختلفة تماماً، فالكلاسيكي والقديم لا ينفع هنا. ونقدم فيما يلي بعض التصورات المبدئية:

1) تحويل بعض أعمال الحكومة إلى تجارية الطابع. وذلك بحصر أعمال الدولة التي يمكن تخصيصها، وثم عزلها في شركات مملوكة للدولة، بعد تفريغها من العمالة الفائضة (التي تحول إلى وزارات أخرى)، على أن تدار على أساس تجاري بحت، مع تحديد ربحها بنسبة معينة (مثل 5% – 10%). وهناك أساليب كثيرة لمتابعة ومراقبة وتطبيق هكذا مشاريع.

2) إعادة تقييم الأعمال الحكومية المتبقية بحيث يتولاها مدراء قديرون، ويعاد تنظيمها وتفريغها من فائض الموظفين الذين ينقلون إلى وزارة خاصة بذلك. وتدار حسب أهداف ومؤشرات أداء واضحة.

3) يعاد تدريب وتأهيل العمالة الفائضة ومن ثم تُخَيَّر بين العمل لحسابها بعد استلام مكافئات مجزية، أو العمل في القطاع الخاص، أو العمل في مؤسسات الدولة إن احتاجت خبراتها التخصصية.

4) تشجيع انشاء المشاريع المشتركة بين القطاعين العام والخاص (PPP) ولكن بتركيز أكبر على مشاريع متوسطة الحجم وتلك المقدمة من القطاع الخاص، بعد دراستها تماماً من قبل الحكومة. فالمشاريع المشتركة المؤسسة في الستينات من القرن الماضي كانت جيدة ويمكن الاقتداء بها. أما بالنسبة للمشاريع العامة العملاقة، فهي أيضاً مفيدة، ولكنها ضخمة جداً وأكبر من قدرة القطاع الخاص على لعب دور مباشر ومؤثر فيها (غير ربما دور الوسيط للشركات العالمية التي تسير حسب أجندات خاصة بها).

5) يفرض على القطاع الخاص تعيين العمالة الوطنية من خلال إيقاف أو تقليص إصدار وتحويل أذونات العمل (إلا في أضيق المجالات ولتخصصات نادرة). وكذلك تمنع الشركات المخالفة من المشاركة في مناقصات وممارسات الدولة (بعد منحها فترة كافية لترتيب أوضاعها). وبشرط أن يطبق هكذا قرار في آن واحد على الجميع، وإلا تسبب في فقدان العدالة والمنافسة بين الشركات التي تطبقه وتلك التي تتلكأ أو تكون معفية منه.

6) تشجيع الشركات التي تنتج سلع أو خدمات قابلة للتصدير وتكافأ على حجم صادراتها.

لا شك أن الأفكار أعلاه مختصرة وقابلة للحوار والتعديل والتحسين، ولكنها في جميع الأحوال أفضل من القفز إلى المجهول بالتخصيص المتسرع. خصوصاً وأنه طريق في اتجاه واحد، إذا أخطأنا الاختيار، لا يمكننا العودة. كما أنه دائماً يؤدي إلى أسعار أعلى على المواطنين. لذلك علينا التريث حتى نتأكد تماماً مما نحن مقدمين عليه. فحبة دواء التخصيص ستتطلب تنكر ماء لبلعها، وحتى عندئذٍ، هناك احتمال أن نَقُصُّ بها.

Share

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

هذا الموقع يستخدم Akismet للحدّ من التعليقات المزعجة والغير مرغوبة. تعرّف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Is Privatization The Solution?

Is Privatization The Solution?

There is a prevalent misconception of privatization. On one hand, the concept of privatization is diverse and hence complex, with no universal consensus on why and where it may be applied, what it exactly entails, how it is to be implemented and what are its actual historical outcomes. On the other hand, heavy doses of public relations cosmetics have been applied to camouflage it and increase its appeal, turning it into a single cure-all-pill, that can remedy all our ills and transform us into a modern and prosperous country. While, we dearly wish for such a rosy outcome, we doubt that this pill has the potency to deliver the desired results. We believe that negative risks of privatization in Kuwait and the GCC outweigh its theoretical positives. The camouflage has been based on two assumptions, both of which may not stand up to scrutiny. These two assumptions are: The State is inherently inefficient, and the Private Sector is inherently efficient and has outstanding abilities. Let us explore them briefly below:

The Inefficiency of the Sate Assumption:

The proponents of privatization assume that the State is a poor manager because:

1) It lacks people with management talent and abilities.
2) It is unable to control the quality of the products and services it delivers to the public.
3) It is non-profit by orientation, which diminishes its interest in cost control. Hence, its expenses are not only sky-high, but also encourage corruption.

However, the pro-privatization camp, intentionally or unintentionally, ignores, the following facts:

1) The State is very capable of hiring the best management talent to manage its work as well control its quality and costs. In fact, the public sector contains many top-notch executives in various fields and departments. They may not be visible because of their relative small number compared to that to the huge civil service cadre.
Historically, the breakneck speed and size of the development of Kuwait over the past half century, encouraged the government to employ an ever-growing number of citizens. The objective was to secure them jobs, income and a livelihood – productivity was not a priority then. This eventually led to the bloated civil service that we now complain is inefficient. In fact, the problem is social and political in nature, rather than managerial or economic. No doubt, better management planning and techniques may have mitigated its (then unforeseen) negative effects, but revenues were gushing in, and everybody was quenching their thirst. It is easy, to judge in retrospect, and to claim, after the fact, that the government should have been stricter in hiring and performance evaluation. But remember, this began in the 1950’s and 1960’, when the society was still in its infancy. Thereafter, it became a norm, and no one had the will or courage to stop the practice of hiring – And so continues today. Nevertheless, the fact remains. The State is very capable of hiring top managers – Despite the resistance of powerful interest groups and those benefiting from the status quo.

2) The State is very liquid, and has all the capital needed to fund projects the private sector gets cold feet about. The State’s mere presence, is a safeguard protecting such projects from the vagaries of the markets, which have tripped or pulled the rug from under many private sector projects, throwing them at the mercy of banks, financiers and creditors.

3) The State owns vast land holdings that can be utilized for any project imaginable.

4) The State can decide to monopolize projects it deems essential and critical for the welfare of society, the economy or national security.

5) The State can reclassify some of its projects from non-profit to for-profit. It can commercialize projects and operate them as such.

The Efficiency of the Private Sector Assumption:

The proponents of privatization assume that the private sector is capable of taking over many of the Government’s functions, manage them in a much better manner, as well as take the lead in entrepreneurship and economic development. They base this on the following:
1) The private sector has ample managerial and executive talent.
2) The principle of Profit and Loss ensure that the private sector delivers maximum product & service quality at minimum cost.
3) The private sector is the main driver of economic development as well as a protector of the Balance of Payments.

However, here too, they ignore, intentionally or otherwise, the following facts:

1) The private sector in Kuwait (and in most of the GCC) relies almost totally on Government spending. The State is by far largest source of the private sector’s revenue in the form of purchases of products and service via public tenders and direct buying. Also, the salaries and bonuses it pays its public employees, constitute a major part of consumers’ demand, which the private sector relies on to stay in business. Should the State stop its spending, or even reduce it, the private sector immediately stumbles, panics and inundates the government with appeals to save it from bankruptcy.

2) There is no doubt that some excellent managerial talent exists in the private sector, especially that which has grown in the past couple of decades. However, their numbers are too small to carry the full load of the economy. As for the rest of the private sector, it remains classical in its management style, and continues to totally rely on expatriate management and labor. Recent history is full of examples confirming the private sector’s inability to deal with the many economic crises that have befallen the country. The private sector was not able to withstand a single internal or external crisis, and in each case, ran to the government for help to stave off its imminent collapse and bankruptcy.
From another aspect, there is a serious concern that the private sector’s infatuation with profits, can override its commitment to deliver quality goods and services. The huge number of dishonesty, fraud and deceit that are regularly reported in the press are a frightening indication of this – not to mention the cases that are not caught or reported. As for corruption, it is a two-sided affair. One side pays, and the other collects. The side that pays is the private sector, who may be forced to so, to ensure that its profitability levels are maintained.

3) One of the most important tenants of economic development is employment. This means the reduction of unemployment be it, visible or disguised. By reviewing the private sector performance over the past half century, it is obvious that it has been the main funnel for the rise in skilled and unskilled expatriate labor, at the expense of national labor.
As for the Balance of Payments, its historical surpluses are a direct result of oil exports, without which the Dinar exchange rate would have dropped to that of the weakest currencies. At the same time, the private sector’s net contribution to the balance of payments has always been negative.

What Does This Privatization “Pill” Mean?

If the privatization assumptions and facts described above are true, then why is there a rush to implement it? Especially without sufficiently studying its likely impact on Kuwait (and the other GCC countries)? In the government’s case, the reason may be to quickly wash its hands off the problem that it has inherited, and for which it has no vision or will to tackle and is hence, not confident in solving. But in the case of the private sector, the rush is a form of jockeying for priority positions to grab the choicest cuts of the State functions and projects. Especially as those projects will likely entail the granting of monopoly franchises, free or cheap land, specially designed laws and procedures, and guaranteed continuous demand for the products and services privatized at inflated prices with no competitors – And all this without paying its true cost, tangible and intangible. How can the private sector pass up such a golden opportunity?

What is the Alternative to Privatization?

Despite the World Bank’s insistence that privatization is the solution, and despite the economic theories that attach huge importance to privatization, it is not necessarily a cure-all. The World Bank has, for half a century, been forcing economic policies down the throats of third world countries. The end result for many of these countries has not been always positive, many ended drowning in debt and are now held captive, nay enslaved, by the developed countries, their banks and multinational corporations. As for the economic theories, when they speak of privatization, they primarily mean employment (as well as capital infusions, efficiency etc.). This means employing the national work force that existed in the public sector, as well as employing additional national labor. This is presently unrealistic in the GCC and would be very difficult to achieve.

Therefore, it is imperative to think outside the box, and seek totally new approaches. Classical methods may not work here. The following is a very brief exploration of some possible solutions:

1) Commercialize part of the Government. This can be done be identifying those functions that lend themselves to commercialization, segregate them into specially formed corporations, remove the surplus employees by transferring them to another government entity and let the new corporation operate commercially, but limit its profit targets (say 5% – 10%). There are many ways to control and monitor such an operation.

2) Reorganize the remaining government ministries and entities, appoint capable managers and remove the excess staff by transferring them as above. Then operate these entities according to clear and specific targets and KPI’s.

3) Undertake a massive retraining program to upgrade the skills of the excess government labor and then give them a choice of: work independently after receiving a lucrative severance bonus, work for the private sector or work for the government ministries and organizations if their skills are required.

4) Encourage Private Public Projects (PPP), with a greater concentration on medium sized projects generated by the private sector, after thorough study and assessment by the government. The history of the PPP projects of the 1960’s are a good example of what can be done. As for the Mega public projects, they undoubtedly remain useful, but they are way too big for the private sector to play a direct role in, other than that of a middleman or commission agent for multinational companies, who will always have their own agendas.

5) Pressure the private sector to hire national labor by stopping or drastically reducing work permits as well as transfers (exceptions may be allowed for rare specializations). Then, pressure unresponsive companies by blacklisting from government tenders and purchases (After granting them reasonable time to adjust). Such a decision must be applied unanimously on one specific date, otherwise it would be unfair, with some companies taking an unjustified competitive advantage over others.

6) Encourage local companies to export their products or services, and grant them appropriate rewards.

While the above summary ideas are subject to amendment and improvement, they remain better than jumping blind into the abyss of privatization. Especially as it is a one-way street, once taken, it cannot be reversed, and always results in higher consumer prices. We must be absolutely certain that the path we choose is the correct one, as the proposed cure-all-pill will need a road tanker of water to swallow, and even then, we are likely to choke on it.

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.