تحول المد والجزر عند الأكراد إلى طوافان

تحول المد والجزر عند الأكراد إلى طوافان

armour-1300665_640

علقنا قبل عدة أيام بأن مد وجزر السياسة أوحى وكأن الأكراد ، بعد سيطرتهم على منبج ، سيجنحون للستر ويمتنعون عن الاستمرار شمالاً وبذلك يثيروا الأتراك. ولكنهم لم يفعلوا ، واستمروا شمالاً نحو جرابلس على الحدود السورية التركية.

ولكن تركيا كانت قادرة ومستعدة لهم. وبعد يومان من القصف المدفعي المستمر ، تحركت الدبابات التركية ودخلت شمال سوريا. وهي بذلك تحقق سيناريو متوقع منذ فترة طويلة لتثبيت وجود عسكري لها داخل سوريا.

قد تكون الأعذار والمبررات كثيرة (الكود ببيزة – كما يقال في الخليج) ، ولكن لحظة دخولها سوريا يصبح من الصعب لزحزحتها أو إخراجها. فقد حدث نفس الشيء قبل أقل من سنة في شمال العراق بالقرب من الموصل.

تبدو أن استراتيجية تركيا الرئيسية هي منع تأسيس وحدة كردية على حدودها الجنوبية ، خصوصاً وحدة كبيرة متصلة ممتدة من العراق إلى قرب البحر المتوسط. ولكن هذا هو تماماً ما يطمح إليه الأكراد ، بل يحلمون به. لذلك كان لا بد من التصادم الدموي.

كما أن هذه الحركة التركية تصب بشكل ملائم في طلبها القديم لإنشاء منطقة آمنة في الشمال السوري. ومع احتمال فوز هيلاري كلنتون برئاسة أمريكا ، وهي مؤيدة علنية لهكذا منطقة آمنة ، ستزداد صعوبة إخراج الأتراك من سوريا.

أما بالنسبة للأكراد ، فإنهم العساكر على الأرض الذين يؤدون مهمة الأمريكان في مقاتلة داعش. وبناءً على ذلك ، اعتبروا حلفاءً للأمريكان ومحميين منهم ضد تهديدات داعش وتركيا. وكذلك كان الأمر ، لغاية يوم أمس.

ليس غريباً على الولايات المتحدة أن تغير اتجاهاتها وتحالفاتها. فهي حالياً في مرحلة التقارب والتحبب والتصالح مع تركيا بعد محاولة الانقلاب التي نوه الأتراك بأنها كانت مدبرة من أمريكا أو على الأقل نالت بركاتها. فنائب الرئيس الأمريكي ، جو بايدن ، يزور تركيا لإصلاح العلاقات وترقيع الشرخ الذي حدث. لذلك ، من غير المتوقع أن يعكر الأمريكان الماء الآن في محاولة التوسط لحماية الأكراد من المدفعية التركية.

كما أدرك الاكراد فوراً خطأهم في التوغل شمالاً ، وأدركوا بأنهم ما عادوا بمثابة الزوجة الجديدة المدللة للأمريكان ، فانسحبوا ليس فقط من جرابلس ، بل أيضاً من منبج التي نزفوا دماءً كثيرة في نزعها من داعش.

وماذا بعد هذا؟ لا شك أن الأمر مُحَيّر ، ولكنه أيضاً محزن. فهذا التطور الجديد ينبئ بمعارك إضافية ونزف دماء كثيرة بدون بوادر واضحة للانحسار القريب.

Share

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

هذا الموقع يستخدم Akismet للحدّ من التعليقات المزعجة والغير مرغوبة. تعرّف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

ITS NOT A TIDE FOR THE KURDS, IT’S A FLOOD

ITS NOT A TIDE FOR THE KURDS, IT’S A FLOOD

armour-1300665_640

A few days ago we observed that the ebb and flow of politics seemed to indicate that the Kurds, after taking Manbij, will keep their head low and avoid antagonizing Turkey. They didn’t, and continued northwards towards Jarabulus on the Turkish/Syrian Border.

Turkey was ready and certainly able. Following two days of artillery pounding, Turkish tanks rolled into Syria yesterday, thus realizing the long-expected scenario of a Turkish military presence inside Syria.

The pretexts and justifications for this action may be “dime a dozen”, but once inside, they become difficult to dislodge and eject. A similar situation has existed in north Iraq near Mosul, for almost a year now.

Turkey’s paramount strategic objective seems to be the obstruction of the creation of a Kurdish entity alongside its southern border. Especially, one that is big and stretches all the way from Iraq to near the Mediterranean. But this is exactly what the Kurds dream of. Hence the clash was always inevitable.

Of course it also, plays well into the hand of the Turkish long-standing demand for a safe zone in north Syria. And, with the likely election of Hillary Clinton, who is a publicly declared proponent of such a safe zone, it would become even more difficult to dislodge them.

The Syrian Kurds are doing the hard ISIS fighting on the ground, theoretically on behalf of the US. And as such, they were regarded as US allies, or at the least their protégés. Consequently, the US has protected them from both ISIS and Turkish threats, that is until yesterday.

The US, not unusually, has now switched. They are now trying to kiss-and-make-up with Turkey after the attempted coup, which was alluded by Turkey as being US instigated or blessed. Vice President Biden was just in Ankara patching things up. Therefore, it is totally unlikely that they would rock the boat and try to intercede on behalf of the Syrian Kurds pounded by the Turkish artillery.

In fact, the Kurds immediately realized their folly in heading northwards, as well as realized they may no longer be the “flavor of the day” for the Americans, so they pulled not only out of Jurabulus, but also, pulled out of Manbij which they had spilt so much of their blood winning.

What is next? Interesting, but also sad, as this new development augurs more battles and more bloodshed with no sign of an early abatement.

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.