الغاز القطري والحرب التجارية الصينية/الأمريكية

الغاز القطري والحرب التجارية الصينية/الأمريكية

– مع تصاعد حدة المناوشات بينهما، حصنت الصين مؤخراً دفاعاتها تجاه بعض الهجوم الاقتصادي الأمريكي. 

– فنمو الطلب الصيني على الغاز متسارع مما يتطلب منها العمل على ضمان استمرار توفر مصادر الاستيراد وبلا أي انقطاع.

– كما أن التهديد الأمريكي بفرض رسوم جديدة على 200 مليار دولار من المنتجات الصينية أرغم الصين الرد بالمثل. وإحدى هذه الردود كان فرض رسوم على واردات الغاز المسال من أمريكا، مما يعثر خطة أمريكا لتنمية وتوسعة قدرتها الإنتاجية للغاز المسال.

– ومن بين الخيارات المتاحة لها، اختارت الصين شراء الغاز القطري، ووقعت الأسبوع الماضي عقداً مدته 22 سنة لشراء 3.4 مليون طن من الغاز المسال القطري (وهذا أكبر عقد توقعه الصين على الاطلاق)

– فقد كان منتجو الغاز الأمريكان يخططون لتوسعة طاقتهم الإنتاجية للغاز المسال من خلال تنمية المبيعات للصين بالإضافة لتوقعاتهم على الحصول على استثمارات صينية ضخمة لتمويل البنية التحتية لصناعة الغاز المسال. ولكن تبخرت الآن هذه التوقعات حيث أن التطورات الجديدة تضعف الجدوى الاقتصادية من هكذا استثمار.

– يبدو أن هذا مثال جيد لفائدة توفر السيولة النقدية لتحاشي المشاكل قبل حدوثها (فقدرة الصين على الشراء الفوري للغاز جنبها متاعب داخلية وخارجية كثيرة). كما أنه مثال جيد لميزة صغر حجم اللاعب في الميدان، ومرونة حركته، وقصر وسرعة دورة أخذ القرار عند ظهور الفرص المواتية (وهذا يظهر قدرة قطر على التحرك السريع للاستفادة من الفرصة المتميزة بدون إزعاج أمريكا أو إثارة غضبها).

بشكل عام: محايد… لحد الآن!

سلبي لمن؟: لأمريكا لأنه يضعف خطة نمو قطاع الغاز المسال الأمريكي، كما يضعف قوة ضغطها الاقتصادي على الصين.

إيجابي لمن؟: للصين وقطر. فهو إيجابي للصين بضمانه استمرار تدفق الغاز بالإضافة لتعزيز قدرتها لصد الضغط الأمريكي الاقتصادي. وإيجابي بالنسبة لقطر لأنه يضمن مبيعات كبيرة لمدة تزيد عن 20 سنة مما يمكنها في زيادة قدرتها الإنتاجية للغاز المسال مما سيعيدها للمركز الأول العالمي للتصدير.

قوة تأثيره: معتدل

المدة الزمنية: متوسط وطويل المدى

لقراءة الخبر الأصلي:   https://oilprice.com/Energy/Energy-General/The-Qatar-China-LNG-Deal-Is-A-Game-Changer.html

Share

أضف تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

هذا الموقع يستخدم Akismet للحدّ من التعليقات المزعجة والغير مرغوبة. تعرّف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Qatar Gas and the US/China Trade War

Qatar Gas and the US/China Trade War

– As the trade war skirmishes between the US and China increase in intensity, China is actively shoring up its defenses.

– Chinese demand for gas is increasing at an accelerating pace and it must ensure supplies continue uninterrupted.

– With the US threatening tariffs on $ 200 Billion of Chinese imports, China is compelled to retaliate accordingly. One such retaliation tool is to impose tariffs on US LNG gas imports into China, which may stunt the anticipated growth of US LNG industry.

– One alternative that China opted for was the signing last week of a 22-year gas purchase agreement with Qatar. It is for 3.4 million tons of LNG gas per year (It is the largest contract that China has ever signed!).

– The US gas operators had been planning dramatic growth in their LNG capacities via the anticipated large volume sales to China as well as expecting large Chinese investments in the planned US LNG infrastructure. This has now evaporated and may negatively impact the economic feasibility of investment in capacity expansion.

– This is a perfect example of having the cash to mitigate problems before they arise (China’s ability to immediately buy alternative sourced gas). Also, it is a perfect example of the advantage of being small, agile and have a short decision-making cycle to benefit from opportunities as soon as they arise (Qatar’s ability to strike an advantageous deal without dramatically upsetting the US).

GENERALLY:  Neutral… so far!

NEGATIVE FOR:  The USA, as it weakens its planned LNG gas expansion, as well as partially weakens its economic pressure on China.

POSITIVE FOR:  China and Qatar. For China, by guaranteeing continued supply of gas as well as countering the US tariffs. For Qatar, by guaranteeing substantial gas sales for a long period (over 20 years), which allows it to embark expanding its gas business and return to the position of the largest LNG exporter.

IMPACT POTENTIAL:  Medium

TIME SCOPE:  Medium and Long Term

 READ ORIGINAL:    https://oilprice.com/Energy/Energy-General/The-Qatar-China-LNG-Deal-Is-A-Game-Changer.html

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.